Table of Contents

User Guides

When you first sign up to Bird Spot you will be directed to your profile page. This is where you can tell people about yourself, manage your account, and view your activity. 

How to set up your Bird Spot profile

When you first sign up to Bird Spot you will be directed to your profile page. This is where you can tell people about yourself, manage your account, and view your activity. 

To edit your profile, click the gear icon. 

You can choose which fields you want to fill out. The help button by each field will tell you whether it will be shown on your profile or whether it will be only visible to you. From here you can upload a cover photo and a profile photo.

You can also edit your account from your profile page. 

Please note your username cannot be changed. If you want to change your display name please get in touch with us at hello@birdspot.co.uk.

You can choose your privacy settings and notifications from your account. Some options around privacy are only available to premium members.

On your profile you will see a number of tabs. You can find out more about what each of these mean by selecting one of the options below. 

How to join, manage, and use groups

Groups are a way to help you connect with your friends and other bird lovers, share stories and pictures, ask and answer questions, and find help.

If you are new to Bird Spot we encourage you to get started by joining the following groups:

Types of groups

Bird Spot has 3 types of groups:

Public groups

Anyone can join public groups.

The group will be listed in the groups directory and in the search results.

The group content and activity will be visible to all site members.

Public groups are a way for people to share stories and ask for advice. 

We also love to hear your feedback, so please use public groups to share ideas or requests for features, report bugs, and make Bird Spot better.

Private groups

Only users who are invited or request membership can join the group.

The group will be listed in the groups directory and in the search results.

The group content and activity will only be visible to members of the group.

Private groups are useful if you want to keep the topic of conversation focussed and limit the number of people who can join in.

Hidden groups

Only users who are invited can join the group.

The group will not be listed in the groups directory or the search results page.

The group content and activity will only be visible to members of the group.

Hidden groups are a way for people to have confidential discussions. 

Creating a group

Only premium members are able to create groups. To create a group click on Manage Groups in the drop down menu under your username.

You can choose whether to create a Public Group, a Private Group, or a Hidden Group.

Choose a name and description for your group and add a category and some tags. Once you have created your group you will be able to edit its settings, add an image to the group, and invite members.

Joining a group

Search or browse through the list of groups. You will be able to join any Public Group by clicking the join button. If you want to join a Private Group then you will need to be approved by the group admins or moderators.

You will only be able to see and join Hidden Groups if you are invited by somebody.

Managing your group

As the admin of a group you can invite members and choose who to make a moderator.